Connecticut legalized medical marijuana growth and use all the way back in 2012. The state also legalized recreational marijuana use and cultivation as of July 1, 2021. The law stipulates that medical marijuana patients who are at least 18 years old may grow up to six plants indoors. Adults 21 years of age may grow six plants of marijuana for personal use after July 1, 2023.
Anyone who wants to grow more than six plants, and/or grow for distribution purposes, must obtain a license from the state of Connecticut as either a cultivator, or micro-cultivator.
Connecticut Marijuana Cultivation License Requirements
The application for a “grow license” in Connecticut has several parts. The state of Connecticut recommends that prior to submitting your application, review sections 21a-408a through 21a-408v (18 sections) of chapter 420f of the Connecticut General Statutes, and of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies (RCSA). They prefer bullet point responses to each section below:
- Business information of applicant – This requires information such as the applicant’s qualifications, experience and industry knowledge.
- Location and site plan – There are a lot of stipulations in this section, including zoning information, floor plans and employee services (e.g. breakroom).
- Proposed business plan – Capacity of your grow operation will be disclosed here, along with your air flow plan.
- Proposed marketing plan – Educational materials are requested here, and any online mock ups or web assets should be shared.
- Financial statements and organizational structure – Pertinent information you need to provide include three years of tax records for all applicants (backed up electronically), and an organizational structure of your business entity.
- Agricultural and production experience – The primary applicants don’t have to be the experts, but they do have to provide the name of an employee who is.
- Marijuana transport – How does your final product go from your grow operation to your buyers?
- Bonus points – Applications are actually graded on a point system (more on that in a moment), and bonus points are awarded for including an employee working environment plan, compassionate need plan, research plan, community benefits plan, substance abuse prevention plan and/or an environmental plan.
Connecticut grades your application on a point system. Each section is allotted a maximum total. However, there is no actual threshold for the point system, and is used for informational purposes to the applicant whereby the reviewer rewards points based on the validity of your plans.
Your Medical Marijuana Producer License Request for Application must be hand delivered to:
Department of Consumer Protection
Drug Control Division
Medical Marijuana Program
450 Columbus Boulevard
Hartford, CT 06103
The format of your application is important. Your application needs to be printed on pages that are single-sided, and the pages must be bound. You need to provide five copies, a CD-Rom, flash or searchable PDF of your completed application.
Upon acceptance of your application and payment of fees (see below), applicants are entered into a lottery system that randomly selects who receives a producer license.
Apply for a Connecticut dispensary license.
Connecticut Cultivation License Cost
The state of Connecticut identifies two different types of marijuana producers: cultivators and micro-cultivators. A micro-cultivator in Connecticut is defined by a grow operation that is between 2,000-10,000 square feet, and a cultivator license is anything bigger than that. The application process is the same, however, fees vary between them, and are as follows:
Lottery Entry Fee = $1k
Provisional License Fee = $25k
Final License/License Renewal = $75k
Lottery Entry Fee = $250
Provisional License Fee = $500
Final License/License Renewal = $1k
CT Marijuana Cultivation Application Process
If your application is approved, it is given to a third-party that runs the producer’s lottery. If your application is chosen in the lottery, you receive a provisional license valid for 14 months, in which time you must finalize your license and pay applicable fees (see above).
It’s important to note that Social Equity Applications will receive priority. In fact, SEAs are given a separate lottery all their own. A Social Equity Applicant must meet the criteria, which includes an average household income of less than three times the state median, was a resident of a disproportionately impacted area in five of the last 10 years or was a resident of a disproportionately impacted area for nine years prior to the applicant turning 18.
Current state law stipulates that only one micro cultivator will be allowed for each 25,000 residents.
If you have questions regarding grow room construction and builders in Connecticut please contact Grow America Builders.